Congratulations to this year’s WSPTA Reflections Award Winners!  The Reflections programs supports the arts in the Bellevue School District, and is sponsored by Bellevue PTSA Council under the direction of council chair Meribeth Nordloef-Pedersen.  PTA Reflections chairs at each school are also instrumental in making this program a success.

Updated May 4, 2016:
Two Bellevue students were named winners at the National PTSA Reflections competition.

Effie Tutko, of Sammamish High School, received the “Outstanding Interpretation” award for her dance choreography piece “Everybody Rules Their World.”

Newport High School student, Iris Hwang received the “Award of Excellence” for her Visual Art submission “Breaking Free.”

Nearly 300,000 students in over 8,000 schools across the country and in U.S. schools overseas contributed their original works to be considered for PTA’s highest honor in the arts. A panel of experts reviewed more than 1,000 national round submissions and selected winners based on students’ personal interpretations on the program’s theme and that best exemplified creativity and technical skill.

Outstanding Interpretation:

Dance Choreography – High School – Effie Tutko, Sammamish High School (National winner)
Dance Choreography – Intermediate – Tessa Cosper, Bennett Elementary
Visual Arts – High School – Iris Hwang, Newport High School (National winner)
Visual Arts – Middle School – Isabella Ong, Tyee Middle School
Visual Arts – Primary – Arthur Taranov, Phantom Lake Elementary

Award of Excellence:

Literature – Primary – Ahan Das Chowdhury, Cherry Crest Elementary

Award of Merit:

Film Production – High School – Evan Hemphill, Newport High School
Music Composition – Middle School – Simon Kwon, Chinook Middle School
Photography – High School – Charlene Lam, Bellevue High School
Visual Arts – Primary – Atharv Kotlikar, Stevenson Elementary
Special Artist – Ethan Seet, Big Picture School

For more information visit the Reflections website.