2017-18 Chinook Middle School Activity List

  • The Clubs are grouped by the quarter in which they start or applications are due. Most continue past the quarter.
  • It is possible to join many (though not all) of the clubs after they have started.
  • Meeting Times are 3:00 – 4:00 PM during Activity time, unless otherwise noted
  • Start and end dates are sometimes not exact. Some also include requirements for participation.
  • Students must have paid ASB fee to join clubs/activities, except for Jublilee Reach sponsored sports.

STARTING QUARTER 1

Activity Staff Advisor & e-mails Start – End Meeting Time Location
Homework Center N/A All Year M,T,Th,F Varies
Jazz Band 1 Mangum – mangumm@bsd405.org Sept 18th – June M,T,W,F Before School Band Room
Jazz Band 2 Mangum – mangumm@bsd405.org Sept 18th – June Thursday Before School Band Room
Jazz Choir Armbruster – armbrustera@bsd405.org October – June TBD Choir Room
Book Club Ponder – ponderc@bsd405.org Sept 11th – June Mondays 1510
Soccer – Boys & Girls Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org Sept 11 – Nov 10 M-F Field
Golf – Girls Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org Sept 19th  – Oct 27 Tuesdays Commons
Cross Country – Co-Ed Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org Sept 11  – Oct 27 M,T,Th,F FIeld
Yearbook Werth – wertha@bsd405.org Sept 26th – April Tuesdays 1405
Musical (Stage) Kraus – krausl@bsd405.org Mid September  – March M,T,Th,F Commons or 1401
ASB Leadership Moe – moej@bsd405.org Full year TBD – maybe Thursdays 2508
Robotics Johnston – johnstonr@bsd405.org Sept 11th – January Mondays & Tuesdays 1413
NJHS

Mattila – mattilak@bsd405.org

Valdez –

valdezj@bsd405.org

Prinsloo – prinslooc@bsd405.org

Year Round 1 meeting per month Commons
WEB

Brown – brownre@bsd405.org

Worthwine – worthwinek@bsd405.org

Year-Round Variable Variable
Film Club Valdez – valdezj@bsd405.org Sept 15th – June Fridays 2408

IGNITE

(Inspiring Girls Now in Technology Education)

Cari – caric@bsd405.org

Scalise – scalisec@bsd405.org
IN FORMATION – CONTACT IF INTERESTED

To Be Decided To be decided 1404

 

 

 

STARTING QUARTER 2

Activity Staff Advisor Start – End Meeting Time Location
Flag Football – CO-ED Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org Nov 13th – Jan 26th M-F Field
Badminton – CO-ED Kapioski – kapioskic@bsd405.org Mackintosh – mackintoshc@bsd405.org Nov 13th – Jan 26th M,T,Th,F Gym
NJHS applications for new students

Mattila – mattilak@bsd405.org

Prinsloo – prinslooc@bsd405.org

End of November Once a month Commons

 

STARTING QUARTER 3

Activity Staff Advisor Start – End Meeting Time Location
Volleyball – CO-ED Kapioski – kapioskic@bsd405.org Mackintosh – mackintoshc@bsd405.org January 29th – April 6th M,T,Th,F Gym
Ultimate Frisbee – CO-ED Kapioski – kapioskic@bsd405.org Mackintosh – mackintoshc@bsd405.org January 29th – April 6th M,T,Th,F Field
WEB applications open

Brown – brownre@bsd405.org

Worthwine – worthwinek@bsd405.org

DUE April 21st Variable Variable
Bass Ensemble Chang – changch@bsd405.org February – June Thursday Before School Orchestra Room

 

STARTING QUARTER 4

Activity Staff Advisor Start – End Meeting Time Location
Golf – Girls Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org April 16th – June 1st Tuesdays Commons
Track – CO-ED April 16th – June 15th M,T,Th,F Field
NJHS Applications for next year

Mattila – mattilak@bsd405.org

Prinsloo – prinslooc@bsd405.org

DUE end of April Once a month Commons
Soccer – Boys & Girls Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org April 16th – June 15th M-F Field
Basketball – Boys & Girls Jubilee – Jorge Moreno – jorgem@jubileereach.org April 16th – June 15th M-F Field

 

UNKNOWN STATUS (Has either student interest and no staff supervisor OR a staff member willing to supervise if there is a group of interested students.)

Math Club, Green Team, Science Olympiad

 

MORNING AND LUNCH

In the morning and at lunch the Library and gym are typically open for students to use. Additionally, at lunch the outside play area and field are typically open, depending on availability of staff to supervise.

 

STARTING NEW CLUBS

Individuals interested in starting a new Club should Contact Assistant Principal Leif Moe-Lobeda moej@bsd405.org

 

 

ALL YEAR:

MORNING AND LUNCH

Before School & at Lunch- the Library and GYM are typically open for students to use.

Lunch – the outside play area and field are typically open, depending on availability of staff to supervise.

 

AFTER SCHOOL – Homework Club meets M/T/TH/F after tutorial.

 

UNKNOWN STATUS  – Math Club – Looking for staff supervisor

 

 

 

Click below for more BSD Athletics & Activities info:Associated Student BodyAthletics in Middle SchoolCommunity ForumsDistrict PoliciesField Trips

Planning a Field Trip?

Click on the gold “field trip” button above for current info, forms, applications and more.