Update: May 11, 2022 

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) has begun to release the names of its 2022 scholarship winners. Congratulations to our BSD scholars for the hard work and dedication it took to achieve this accomplishment. 

2022 National Merit $2,500 Scholarship Winners

The 2,500 Merit Scholar designees were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit $2500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®); contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

Bellevue High School

  • Stella S. Fang

Newport High School

  • Katrina Li
  • Caroline L. Zhu

Sammamish High School

  • Jeffrey A. Stedman

Interlake High School

  • Ishan Bansal
  • Lucas H. Wu
  • Muyang Xu
  • Serena P. Yin
  • Nicole Zheng

Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship Winners

Approximately 1,000 distinguished high school seniors have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards financed by about 136 corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations.

Scholars were selected from students who advanced to the Finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met criteria of their scholarship sponsors. Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for Finalists who are children of their employees, who are residents of communities the company serves, or who plan to pursue college majors or careers the sponsor wishes to encourage.

Newport High School

  • Ethan Y. Bai – National Merit Bristol-Meyers Squibb Company Scholarship

Sammamish High School

  • Renee Yeung – National Merit Boeing Scholarship

2022 National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

October 13, 2021

BSD is proud to announce the semifinalists in the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program. Congratulations to all of the BSD students who worked hard to earn this recognition!

High school juniors entered the 2022 National Merit Scholarship Program by taking the 2020 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT®), which served as an initial screen of program entrants. The nationwide pool of semifinalists, representing less than one percent of U.S. high school seniors, includes the highest-scoring entrants in each state. The number of semifinalists in a state is proportional to the state’s percentage of the national total of graduating seniors.

Bellevue High School

  • Madeline A. Brumley
  • Eileen H. Chen
  • Sarah M. Chen
  • Stella S. Fang
  • Eric S. He
  • Ashley Y. Kim
  • Forest Z. Lin
  • Alice Poon
  • Jameson L. Rudolph
  • Trudy P. Silver
  • William K. Wang

Interlake High School

  • Tejus Agrawal
  • Hayun Bae
  • Ishan Bansal
  • Jake D. Donner
  • Evelyn X. Ellis
  • Sophia Fang
  • Helena Feng
  • Salma Haijan
  • Hannah Huang
  • Evelyn R. Jiang
  • Keya A. Joy
  • Rasan Kamkolkar
  • Gnapika Kothakota
  • Andrew Lee
  • Ryan H. Lee
  • Katherine M. Li
  • Michael Li
  • Priyanka Mukhara
  • Shwetha Nidyanandh
  • Govindcharan Pal
  • Keya Patel
  • Theodore Roberts
  • Rohan Simon Shanthanu
  • Ethan Shen
  • Ishan S. Sinha
  • Richard R. Su
  • Ved Thiru
  • Ansh Verma
  • Melody Wang
  • Lucas H. Wu
  • Michael Xu
  • Tanush Yadav
  • Mathew G. Yen
  • Serena P. Yin
  • Nicole Zheng
  • Alicia C. Zhi

International School

  • Rachel Z. Feng
  • Jessica F. Massey
  • Henry K. Rodgers
  • Elle E. Soderquist

Newport High School

  • Ethan Y. Bai
  • Sriya Bulusu
  • Janet M. Chang
  • Ananth R. Dhananjay
  • Jeenah D. Gwak
  • Lillian Huang
  • Ayla E. Karmali
  • Ellen Kim
  • Katrina Li
  • Maggie K. Li
  • Armand Meyer
  • Akira D. Morishita
  • Jenny J. Ni
  • Natalie G. Sarabosing
  • Ethan D. Tampa
  • Chelsea D. Xian
  • Ryan Y. Zhang
  • Caroline L. Zhu

Sammamish High School

  • Josh Chou
  • Joshua S. Jung
  • Jeffrey A. Stedman
  • Renee Yeung

If your student received this recognition, but was not included on this list, please contact communityrelations@bsd405.org.

The Bellevue School District acknowledges that we learn, work, live and gather on the Indigenous Land of the Coast Salish peoples, specifically the Duwamish and Snoqualmie Tribes. We thank these caretakers of this land, who have lived and continue to live here, since time immemorial.