Contact Us

Address

12111 NE 1st Street,
Bellevue, WA 98005

Office Hours

8:00 a.m. – 4:00 p.m.

Phone Number

(425) 456-4144

Email Us

Sherwood Special Education Class

The vision of Special Education in the Bellevue School District is that students are, first and foremost, general education students. Our students:

  • Achieve their potentials and are as independent as possible in determining and living out their preferred futures.
  • Are prepared for their next step in continuing their education, career, and life.
  • Are supported in achieving their preferred futures by a cohesive network which includes their family, school district staff and resources, and a wide array of community partners and services.
  • Become self-fulfilled, self-determined, and productive members of the community.

When a child or young adult is identified as eligible for special education, the district provides education that is specially designed to meet the student’s unique needs and ultimately aimed at preparing the student for a post high school academic setting, employment and independent living. Special education is provided at no cost to the student or parent.

Special education must conform to the student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP). An IEP is a written plan for a child with a disability that includes specific information about areas needing additional or special support, and the services that will be provided. The IEP may include instruction conducted in the classroom, in the home, in hospitals, institutions and other settings.

Resources

Special Education Records

The Bellevue School District retains special education records six years from separation of services. If the student has not received services from BSD in more than 6 years, those records are no longer available.

Students currently enrolled:
Please contact your school for records.

Students no longer enrolled:
Please contact SpecialEdRecords@bsd405.org or (425) 456-4149

Special Education

Special Education Staff

All phone numbers begin with (425) 456-
All email addresses end with @bsd405.org

Last NameFirst NamePositionEmailExtension
ArroyoBrendaDirector of Special Educationarroyob@bsd405.org4144
AustinMeganData Coordinatoraustinm@bsd405.org4155
ClevengerKelleyDirector of Special Educationclevengerk@bsd405.org4144
CrookBeckyAdmin Secretarycrookr@bsd405.org4144
DeJongKarenDirector of Special Educationdejongk@bsd405.org4144
EdlundHeatherExecutive Director of Special Educationedlundh@bsd405.org4156
FarriaYasminAdministrative Assistant to Exec. Directorfarriay@bsd405.org4156
HoestereyCathyAT Coordinatorhoestereyc@bsd405.org4668
KhanSaminaAdmin Secretarykhans@bsd405.org4149
LangCarrieDirector of Health Serviceslangc@bsd405.org4144
RacicotRoseAT Coordinatorracicotr@bsd405.org4674
StrehleJenniferTransition Coordinatorstrehlej@bsd405.org7331
TobaElizabethPreschool Coordinatortobae@bsd405.org5649
ValiquetteKarenaDirector of Special Educationmccabek@bsd405.org4144